Wind Studies and Orchestral Studies Auditions


Fall 2022 Audition Dates: August 22-27, 2022

Audition Process:

  • All instrumental music majors are required to participate in a large ensemble (Mulb) during fall and spring semesters.
  • All students participating in ensembles will audition in round one with the instrumental faculty.  The results of round one are sent to Wind Studies in two groups (A and B) for round two auditions.
  • Students will be assigned an audition slot either for round 2 group A or group B based on the results from round one. This audition will be with the Wind Studies and Orchestral Conductors, and instrumental faculty.
  • After round two, the conductors and instrumental faculty will coordinate placements into ensembles.  The placements will be posted on the Wind Studies website.

Before you audition you must complete the following requirements:

  • Submit an audition information form
  • Sign up for a round one audition
  • Print out and practice audition materials
  • Enroll in the ensemble holding course before 8/25/22.
    • Undergrad Mulb 1806.520
    • Graduate Mulb 5173.520
  • Once you are assigned to an ensemble Wind Studies will move you to your assigned group.
  • If you are not enrolled in the holding course, you could incur late registration fees.

ROUND 1 AUDITIONS:

1. Submit an audition information form:

                Audition information form   (As of 7/28/22 this form is live for you to submit. Wind Studies will not be sending the response link for signups until after 8/1/22!)

  • You will be sent a confirmation email when you submit the form and Wind Studies will respond within 1 business day to provide the round 1 sign up link.
  • After you have signed up for an audition you will be sent the audition materials. 
  • NOTE: Forms submitted on Friday or Saturday will not receive the sign up link until the following Monday.

2. Round 1 audition sign ups:

  • You must submit an audition information form first. A link to sign up will be sent after the form is received.
    • If you sign up for an audition slot and we do not have an audition information form from you, you will be removed from the sign ups. You can sign up only when Wind Studies sends you the link after an audition information form is submitted.
  • Once you have signed up for an audition slot, the audition materials will be sent to you. Wind Studies will be sending the materials in batches throughout the day. Please do not email asking for us to send audition materials. This will add to the workload and delay audition information from being sent.

3. RESULTS for round 1 auditions:

  • Results from round 1 auditions will be posted on this page. Make sure you check this page after your round 1 audition for your round 2 audition time. 

4. ENSEMBLE PLACEMENTS: 

  • Ensemble placements will be posted on this page. Make sure you check back after round 2 auditions are completed. 
  • DO NOT EMAIL Wind Studies regarding the status of the placements. We will post them as soon as they are ready!
  • If at any time you decide NOT to participate in an ensemble you must contact the Wind Studies administrative assistant by emailing: heather.coffin@unt.edu

5. IMPORTANT COURSE ENROLLMENT Info:

  • Make sure you enroll in the holding course to prevent any problems moving you to your assigned ensemble and to avoid late registration fees. 
    • Undergrad holding course Mulb 1806.520
    • Graduate holding course Mulb 5173.520

 


 

 

 

 

                                                           Applied Faculty:

Flute-   Mary Karen Clardy  marykaren.clardy@unt.edu
            Terri Sundberg  terri.sundberg@unt.edu
Oboe-  Jung Choi   jung.choi@unt.edu
Bassoon - Darrel Hale darrel.hale@unt.edu
Clarinet Daryl Coad  daryl.coad@unt.edu
                Kimberly Cole Luevano  kimberly.luevano@unt.edu
                Deborah Fabian deborah.fabian@unt.edu
                Phillip O. Paglialonga phillip.paglialonga@unt.edu

Saxophone -  Eric Nestler  eric.nestler@unt.edu

 

Trumpet - John Holt john.holt@unt.edu
                 Caleb Hudson  caleb.hudson@unt.edu
                Raquel Rodriguez  raquel.rodriguez@unt.edu

Horn -  Stacie Mickens  stacie.mickens@unt.edu
Trombone - Tony Baker  tony.baker@unt.edu
                    Natalie Mannix  natalie.mannix@unt.edu
                    Steven Menard  steven.menard@unt.edu

Euphonium - David Childs  david.childs2@unt.edu
Tuba - Don Little  donald.little@unt.edu
Percussion Mark Fork  mark.ford@unt.edu
                       Paul Rennick  paul.rennick@unt.edu

 

 
 
Wind Studies Ensemble Rehearsal Schedule:
Wind Symphony: Tuesday/Thursday 1:15-4:05 pm (Murchison)
Wind Orchestra: Tuesday/Thursday 12:30-3:15 pm (Murchison)
Wind Ensemble: Tuesday/Thursday 3:30-6:15 pm (Murchison)
Brass Band: Monday/Wednesday 2:15-4:05 pm (MU232)
Concert Band: Monday/Wednesday 1:15-3:15 pm (Murchison)
University Band: Monday/Wednesday 3:30-5:30 pm (Murchison)