ENSEMBLE MUSIC:

Wind Symphony music is ready and can be picked up in the Wind Studies Library

Symphonic Band music is ready and can be picked up in the Wind Studies hallway

 

All other ensembles will be handed their folders at rehearsal!!

DO NOT COME TO THE WIND STUDIES OFFICE- YOU WILL GET IT AT REHEARSAL!!!!

 


 

Round 2 Audition Lists:
MAKE SURE YOU HAVE COMPLETED THE AUDITION INFORMATION FORM!!!
IF WE DO NOT HAVE IT FOR YOUR ROUND 2 AUDITION, IT WILL CAUSE COMPLICATIONS FOR YOU!!!!

Flute:  NOW POSTED  Group A  - Group B   FINAL RESULTS
Oboe: Group A - Group B -  FINAL RESULTS -  
Bassoon: Group A - Group B  FINAL RESULTS
Clarinet: Group A - Group B - FINAL RESULTS
Saxophone: Group A - Group B  FINAL RESULTS
Trumpet: Group A - Group B -  FINAL RESULTS
Horn:  Group A - Group B - FINAL RESULTS
Trombone: Group A - Group B - FINAL RESULTS
Euphonium: Group A - Group B - FINAL RESULTS
Tuba: Group A Group B - FINAL RESULTS
Percussion: Group A - Group B - FINAL RESULTS
 


 

PIANO AUDITIONS FOR CONCERT ENSEMBLE:

1: Complete the Audition Information Form 2018 Audition Information Form

2: Time/date is TBA- please click this link to sign up for a slot: Piano Audition Sign Ups

**Once the time and date is confirmed, we will contact you with your time slot*

 


2018 FALL AUDITION DATES:
AUGUST 1, 2018: Audition material, Audition info form and signup links are posted
AUGUST 20-25, 2018: Auditions Round 1 & 2

 


 

2018 FALL AUDITIONS:

 You MUST be ENROLLED in the HOLDING COURSE if you are auditioning for a concert ensemble!!!! 
We will move you to the course for your assigned ensemble.  If you were not assigned we will drop you from the holding course.

Undergrad MULB 1806.520
Graduate MULB 5173.520

 

August 1-17, 2018:

 

step1

Complete and Submit the Audition Information Form- EVERYONE AUDITIONING MUST COMPLETE THIS FORM!!!!

This needs to be completed BEFORE you sign up for your audition slot!!!

2018 Audition Information Form

  • Fill out the ENTIRE form (if an item does not apply to you, simply enter “N/A”).
  • Applied teacher: If you have not been assigned an applied teacher, please refer to list below and use the faculty listed for your instrument.
  • Note: Your student ID is the 8-digit number assigned to you by UNT, NOT your username (combination of letters and numbers).

                                                           Applied Faculty:

Flute-   Mary Karen Clardy  mary.clardy@unt.edu
            Terri Sundberg  terri.sundberg@unt.edu
Oboe-  James Ryon  james.ryon@unt.edu
Bassoon - Kathleen Reynolds  kathleen.reynolds@unt.edu Clarinet Daryl Coad  daryl.coad@unt.edu
                Kimberly Cole Luevano  kimberly.luevano@unt.edu
                Deborah Fabian deborah.fabian@unt.edu
                Phillip O. Paglialonga phillip.paglialonga@unt.edu

Saxophone -  Eric Nestler  eric.nestler@unt.edu

 

Trumpet - John Holt  john.holt@unt.edu
                Caleb Hudson  caleb.hudson@unt.edu
                Raquel Rodriguez  raquel.rodriguez@unt.edu

Horn -  Stacie Mickens  stacie.mickens@unt.edu
Trombone - Tony Baker  tony.baker@unt.edu
                    Natalie Mannix  natalie.mannix@unt.edu
                    Steven Menard  steven.menard@unt.edu

Euphonium - David Childs  david.childs@unt.edu Tuba - Don Little  donald.little@unt.edu
Percussion Chris Deane  christopher.deane@unt.edu
                       Mark Fork  mark.ford@unt.edu
                       Paul Rennick  paul.rennick@unt.edu

 

 
step2

Enroll in the Holding Section (labeled as “Wind Symphony” or "Large Ensemble: Band" in the Course Catalog)

  • For Undergraduate students, this course is MULB 1806.520
  • For Graduate students, this course is MULB 5173.520.
What’s this for?
This ensures that you are registered for an ensemble. Once auditions are completed we will move you to your specific assigned ensemble (Wind Symphony, Symphonic Band, Wind Ensemble, Brass Band, Concert Band, or University Band), which will show up on your schedule in MyUNT within 2 weeks of auditions. If you are placed in an Orchestra, we will take you out of the class so you can register for either Symphony or Concert Orchestra. 
 
step3
Sign up for your Round 1 Audition Time-  Make sure you have submitted the audition information form BEFORE you sign up for a slot!!!
Why are there two rounds of auditions?
For the Round 1 auditions, you will perform the required excerpts for the applied faculty members in your instrument area. Based on this audition, you will then be placed in a second group (A or B) for the Round 2 auditions, which will take place with both the applied faculty members and ensemble faculty members. This allows us to audition the hundreds of instrumental students within a few days!
Round 1 Signups- Click on your instrument below for link to signup:

 

► Be sure to download and print the required excerpts for your instrument – happy practicing! 

 

August 20-25, 2018:

Round 1 and Round 2 Auditions; Ensemble Assignments Determined

step4

Complete your Round 1 Audition (w/ applied faculty) – Good luck!

 
step5

Determine your Round 2 Audition Time

  • This time slot will be assigned to you. Within 1-2 days of your Round 1 Audition, your Round 2 Audition time will be posted on the Wind Studies website.
  • PLEASE DO NOT CONTACT THE WIND STUDIES OFFICE ASKING WHEN YOUR ROUND 2 AUDITION IS, AS IT ONLY PROLONGS THE PROCESS! We will post the times once all results from the applied faculty are sent to us – we promise smiley
 
step6

Complete your Round 2 Audition (w/ applied faculty and ensemble faculty) – Good luck!

 
step7

Determine your Ensemble Assignment

  • Within 1-2 days of your Round 2 Audition, your ensemble assignment will be posted on the Wind Studies website – make sure you know your ensemble’s rehearsal schedule!
  • Note: All Wind Studies ensembles WILL rehearse during the first week of classes
 
Wind Studies Ensemble Rehearsal Schedule:
Wind Symphony: Tuesday/Thursday 1:15-4:05 pm (Murchison)
Symphonic Band: Tuesday/Thursday 12:30-3:15 pm (Murchison)
Wind Ensemble: Tuesday/Thursday 3:30-6:15 pm (Murchison)
Brass Band: Monday/Wednesday 2:15-4:05 pm (MU232)
Concert Band: Monday/Wednesday 1:15-3:15 pm (Murchison)
University Band: Monday/Wednesday 3:30-5:30 pm (Murchison)